Crobot Announce New Album 'Motherbrain' And New Song 'Low Life'

Published 4 years ago on December 6, 2019

By Jonathan Graham



Pre-Order Live Here:

Check out the new track Low Life here: 

UK Tour Dates:
20 July - Norwich, Waterfront Studio
21 July - Kent, Ramblin Man Fair*
23 July - Manchester, Rebellion
24 July - Blackpool, Waterloo Bar
25 July - Birmingham, Institute 2
26 July - London, Underworld
27 July - Ebbw Vale, Steelhouse Festival*
28 July - Milton Keynes. Craufurd Arms

Crobot and Mascot Records have announced the planned global release of the band’s new studio album Motherbrain on August 23. Earlier this year, the band presented a raucously entertaining lead music video for the song Keep Me Down which can be screened here:

Today, the band and Mascot Records present a second song from the upcoming album titled Low Life which can be heard here: was produced by Crobot and Corey Lowery.

Like food of the gods, rock ‘n’ roll nourishes the soul. Offering holy communion, Crobot proudly personify a trinity of “meat, strings, and emotion” within their music and during the raucous and raging gigs they remain known for. Striking a delicate balance between hard-charging riffs, ass-shaking funk, and out-of-this-world reflective stage attire, the Pennsylvania quartet - Brandon Yeagley [lead vocals, harmonica], Chris Bishop [guitar, vocals], and Dan Ryan [drums], satisfy starvation for sonic sustenance on their fourth full-length and 2019 debut for Mascot Label Group, Motherbrain. James Lascu and Eddie Collinsshare the role of touring bassist for Crobot.

“When we were making the record, it was all about ‘meat, strings, and emotion’,” affirms Chris. “It explains the thought process. We’d usually start the day with chicken biscuits from Chik-fil-A. Obviously, I would play the strings. The emotion comes from the sheer power of me playing.”  Yeagley adds, “It had nothing to do with the chicken biscuits.”

Crobot continue to fill a void. Since emerging in 2011, the group have quietly cemented themselves among the rising rock vanguard. Following the 2012 debut Legend of the Spaceborne Killer and 2014’s Something Supernatural, the musicians made waves with Welcome To Fat City in 2016. Consequence of Sound praised the title track as “a stomping slice of doom, and Classic Rock bestowed a coveted 4-out-of-5-star rating on the album, going on to claim, “Welcome To Fat City is a mighty leap forward for Crobot, an ebullient masterclass. Not to mention, they received acclaim from AXS, New Noise Magazine, and more as total album streams surpassed the 1-million-mark. Along the way, Crobot toured with the likes of Anthrax, Clutch, Black Label Society, Volbeat, Chevelle, Motorhead, The Sword, and more in addition to appearing on ShipRocked! and at numerous other festivals.

During late 2017, the boys started to write what would become Motherbrain. Signing to Mascot Records, the group went from writing at Chris’ spot in Austin, TX to Marietta, GA where they holed up in the studio with Corey Lowery [Seether, Saint Asonia] for a month.  The producer’s direction to embrace the dark side took life, while Brandon delivered some of the most emotive recordings Crobot has delivered to date.

“I think it’s a much darker record, musically, lyrically, and thematically,” says the front man. “It’s some of the heaviest material we’ve ever done, but it’s also some of the funkiest. We’re widening the Crobot spectrum even more. It’s the catchiest too. It’s less about wizards and dragons and more about everyday turmoil and the struggles of life. Corey made it digestible and appealing for not just dudes with beards or chicks with dicks.”

They heralded the record with the rabble-rousing Keep Me Down. Meanwhile, the first single Low Lifeshows the scope of this expanded palette. Featuring chunky guitars and a howling hook, it sees the band co-write with Johnny Andrews and deliver a bold banger. “It’s a song we never would’ve written by ourselves,” Chris continues. “That makes it cool. It took us out of our comfort zone.” “It’s an anthem about this outside perspective on the definition of a lowlife,” explains Brandon. “There’s a misconception that being a touring musician without a lot of money makes you a lowlife, but how is that really any different from the rest of the world? And, if that does make you a lowlife, we’re okay with it!”

Co-written by Brian Vodinh of 10 Years, Burn nods to “the power of Stone Temple Pilots’ ‘Dead and Bloated’, and siphons it through “a Crobot filter. Elsewhere, Drown tempers a muscular groove with a magnetic melody, while the “funkiest song” of the bunch Alpha Dawg pays homage to a “funky werewolf mofo” inspired by Teen Wolf. Then, there’s Stoning The Devil. So catchy it might be Satanic, the tune flips tradition upside down.

“I wanted a different spin on the act of stoning the devil,” states Brandon. “Muslims take a pilgrimage to Mecca in Saudi Arabia to throw stones at these pillars. The act is supposed to ward off evil spirits and cleanse one’s soul. It’s a different culture for the devil’s storyline in our genre.”

In the end, “meat, strings, and emotion” might just be what rock ‘n’ roll needs in 2019 and beyond…

“When people hear this, I hope they say, ‘Yeah, that’s Crobot’,” the front man leaves off. “We want to maintain our identity from record to record. We always want to be genuine. It’s going to evolve, but it will always be Crobot.”

UK tour dates
20   July                 Norwich                               Waterfront Studio
21   July                 Kent                                      Ramblin Man Fair*                                         
23   July                 Manchester                         Rebellion
24   July                  Blackpool                            Waterloo Bar
25   July                 Birmingham                        Institute 2
26   July                 London                                 Underworld
27   July                 Ebbw Vale                           Steelhouse Festival*
28   July                 Milton Keynes                    Craufurd Arms

European tour dates 
30   July               Utrecht, NL                                      De Helling                         w/ LIFE OF AGONY
31   July               Bremen, DE                                    Schlachthof                       w/ LIFE OF AGONY
01   Aug              Wacken, DE                                    Wacken Festival*                                               
02  Aug               Dusseldorf, DE                               Tube                                  w/ FIREWIND
04  Aug               Eindhoven, NL                                The Jack
06  Aug               Pratteln,  CH                                    Z7                                       w/ MONSTER MAGNET
08  Aug               Bielefield, DE                                  Lokschuppen                   w/ MONSTER MAGNET
09  Aug               Kortrijk, BE                                       Alcatraz Festival*                               
10  Aug               Leeuwarden, NL                            Into The Grave* 


Track Listing

1. Burn
2. Keep Me Down
3. Drown
4. Low Life
5. Alpha Dawg
6. Stoning The Devil
7. Gasoline
8. Destroyer
9. Blackout
10. After Life
11. The Hive


Slash Releases “Oh Well” Featuring Chris Stapleton Off Star-Studded New Album 'Orgy of the Damned,’ Set for Global Release May 17 on Gibson Records
Spector Launches Woodstock Custom Collection Volume II
Slash “Jessica” Les Paul Standard, Gibson Celebrates the Iconic Guitarist and Recreates His Main Stage Guitar Since 1988
C.F Martin & Co. Welcomes New Strings Business Leader
Top magnifiercross linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram